Review-Trusting You and Other Lies

19059693_1501606276528921_5038821008015445201_n

Synopsis

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.
Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years–do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?
On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum–the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he’s impossible to figure out–and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he’s promising Phoenix a summer she’ll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

Rebecca Review-001

four star

It’s no secret of my adoration for Nicole Williams, and I was thrilled when she announced her return to YA. It has been too long since she’s written in this genre. Trusting You and Other Lies is a delightful coming of age story and reminded me of how well Williams writes contemporary YA.  I adored Phoenix and her journey of self discovery.

“Our destiny is always waiting for us. It’s right in front of us, all the time. Sometimes we just need a place and a time to be reminded of that.”

Flagstaff, AZ is one of my favorite vacation places, and I was elated to see this outdoor paradise as the backdrop.  It’s the ideal setting for a summer romance.  As the story begins, Phoenix appears to be an unconnected and emotionally closed off teenager. The scenes with her younger brother, Harrison quickly prove she’s caring and loyal. Their interactions are some of my favorite moments in the book. Harrison’s character adds a needed lighthearted element, and he always had me smiling.  The strained relationship with Phoenix and her parents is tense but not overly dramatic. The attempts to make their family whole again is a slow process, but I liked how realistic and heartfelt they are.

“You’re my daughter. I’d walk through fire for you, so of course I’d jump into some silly little river to save you.”

Like with most true YA, the romance in Trusting You is the slowest of burns. Both Callum and Phoenix like keeping people at arm’s length and are hesitant to trust. I tend to prefer dual points of views, but having Callum’s story only through Phoenix’s narration works well. I enjoyed learning about his character as she does. I relished their intense and slow building relationship. It holds all the powers and emotions of first love, and I felt every moment with them.

He kissed me like I’d wanted to be kissed my whole entire life–like I was everything.

If you’re looking for a low angst and heart warming YA, I definitely recommend Trusting You and Other Lies. Yes, it is little predictable, but it didn’t stop me from loving the journey. I hope Williams decides to write in this genre soon; I forgot how much I missed her there.

Thank you to Crown Books and Nicole Williams for my advanced copy. 

One Click-001

Amazon hardcover: http://hyperurl.co/fbf9bp
iTunes: http://hyperurl.co/239kc9
B&N: http://hyperurl.co/sjs2p7

Meet The Author-001

4887264

Nicole Williams is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of contemporary and young adult romance, including the Crash and Lost & Found series. Her books have been published by HarperTeen and Simon & Schuster in both domestic and foreign markets, while she continues to self-publish additional titles. She is working on a new YA series with Crown Books (a division of Random House) as well. She loves romance, from the sweet to the steamy, and writes stories about characters in search of their happily even after. She grew up surrounded by books and plans on writing until the day she dies, even if it’s just for her own personal enjoyment. She still buys paperbacks because she’s all nostalgic like that, but her kindle never goes neglected for too long. When not writing, she spends her time with her husband and daughter, and whatever time’s left over she’s forced to fit too many hobbies into too little time.

Nicole is represented by Jane Dystel, of Dystel and Goderich Literary Agency.

Website   Facebook  Twitter  Blog  Instagram

Leave a Reply

