Review – Rock Chick Reawakening

image

Synopsis

From New York Times bestselling author, Kristen Ashley, comes the long-awaited story of Daisy and Marcus, Rock Chick Reawakening. A prequel to Kristen’s Rock Chick series, Rock Chick Reawakening shares the tale of the devastating event that nearly broke Daisy, an event that set Marcus Sloane—one of Denver’s most respected businessmen and one of the Denver underground’s most feared crime bosses—into finally making his move to win the heart of the woman who stole his.

Rebecca Review-001

four_half-stars_

This is the book Rock Chicks have been waiting desperately for. We finally have the backstory featuring the fun loving, over-the-top Daisy and the somewhat mysterious Marcus. Even though my expectations were sky high, this novella was even better than I imagined. I can think of no better finale for one of my most beloved series.

“You’re the dream a girl like me never thought she could dream.”

When I teared up at the prologue, it should have been an indication how powerful this story would be. I have always felt a personal connection to Daisy, as she reminds me so much of my late mother, minus the stripper part.  She has such a unique and straightforward outlook on life and love.  It was no surprise that my adoration for her only grew. However, I was not prepared for how much Marcus stole my heart. He’s always been a little aloof and overshadowed by The Hot Bunch, but I saw him in an entirely new light. I enjoyed seeing the past events that shaped their beliefs and characters. This novella packs such an emotional punch;  I would go from laughing, to crying, and back to smiling. It represents everything I love most about KA.

“I wanna believe in castles.”
“You’ll believe,” he whispered.

Even though most the story occurs prior to the first Rock Chick, there are plenty of cameos and Easter Eggs to be found. All the events and characters of the series just fall into place with this novella. I’ve often said that KA is the Queen of epilogues, and this one is complete perfection. It brings Daisy, Marcus, and the entire Rock Chick Series full circle. I laughed, cried, and was left with the mother of all book hangovers. I cannot recommend this series and novella enough!

A huge thank you to Evil Eye Concepts Incorporated, Ink Slinger, and Kristen Ashley for my advanced copy of this novella. 

One Click-001

image-1Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2iMZZgP
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2ipZAnR
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/2hAiffu
Amazon AU: http://amzn.to/2hUosR5

Excerpt

“Who’s that tall, dark drink of handsome water?” I asked Ashlynn, my eyes on the tall man with broad shoulders and fabulous suit who was sauntering out of the club in the manner of a man who owned it.

In the manner of a man who owned anything he wanted.

“Don’t go there,” Ashlynn answered.

I looked to Ashlynn.

“What, sugar?”

She shook her head. “He’s hot. Knew a girl who’s had him and I’ll repeat, he’s hot. Took her out four times. All to fancy restaurants where she had to buy fancy dresses and shoes. And he gave it to her good at the end of the night, and I mean real good, the way she described it. He also, like, opened the car door for her and everything.”

Opened the car door for her.

And everything.

Oh my.

“Ended it with her giving her a gold bracelet,” Ashlynn carried on, recapturing my attention. “Pure class.” Her look got intense as she stared into my eyes. “And he’s trouble.”

I glanced to the door that he’d obviously gone through because he’d disappeared, then back to Ashlynn.

“Trouble?”

Ashlynn didn’t answer that question.

She just shook her head again and declared, “He wouldn’t date a stripper anyway. Like I said. He’s class.”

I felt my mouth get tight.

Meet The Author-001

71x4P3eFE7L._UX250_

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA and nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorize and she hadn’t taken her first breath!). Her mother said they took Kristen away, put her Mom back in her room, her mother looked out the window, and Gary was on fire (Dr. King had been assassinated four days before). Kristen’s Mom remembered thinking it was the end of the world. Quite the dramatic beginning. 

Nothing’s changed.

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana and has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus, she’s blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her family was (is) loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write. They all lived together on a very small farm in a small farm town in the heartland. She grew up with Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up. 

And as she keeps growing, it keeps getting better.

WEBSITE * FACEBOOK * TWITTER * NEWSLETTER * GOODREADS * PINTEREST * INSTAGRAM

One response to “Review – Rock Chick Reawakening

Leave a Reply

