Review – The Score by Elle Kennedy

12469591_995675983832906_4935832581320371651_oSynopsisHe knows how to score, on and off the ice

Allie Hayes is in crisis mode. With graduation looming, she still doesn’t have the first clue about what she’s going to do after college. To make matters worse, she’s nursing a broken heart thanks to the end of her longtime relationship. Wild rebound sex is definitely not the solution to her problems, but gorgeous hockey star Dean Di-Laurentis is impossible to resist. Just once, though, because even if her future is uncertain, it sure as heck won’t include the king of one-night stands.

It’ll take more than flashy moves to win her over

Dean always gets what he wants. Girls, grades, girls, recognition, girls…he’s a ladies man, all right, and he’s yet to meet a woman who’s immune to his charms. Until Allie. For one night, the feisty blonde rocked his entire world—and now she wants to be friends? Nope. It’s not over until he says it’s over. Dean is in full-on pursuit, but when life-rocking changes strike, he starts to wonder if maybe it’s time to stop focusing on scoring…and shoot for love.

 

Rebecca Review-001Since reading The Deal and The Mistake in 2015, I’ve been anxiously awaiting this third installment from the Off-Campus Series. In the first two books, I found Dean sort of obnoxious and over the top. I was interested to see how Ms. Kennedy would deliver his story, and if she could change my opinion about him. While there were moments of doubt, in the end I became a firm member of Team Dean. I have always adored Allie’s character and was confident my love for her would only grow.  The Score delivers in a every way and is a perfect addition to this sexy and fun series.

Dean Di Laurentis is in my blood now. I didn’t expect this intense sexual chemistry between us, but it’s here, and it’s addictive, and I don’t know how I can ever give it up.

I am certain Dean will capture the attention and hearts of most readers, but for me Allie truly shines throughout this book. Despite her heartbreak, she is strong and persistent in her actions. She refuses to settle in her career or love, which is rare for a woman her age. Secondly, I appreciate how she is confident and secure in her sexuality. She does not spend time fretting over her “relationship” with Dean, but accepts it. I also adore how much she loves and cares for her father. The best NA books are those that have a strong lead heroine, and Allie delivers on every level.

I love her shamelessness, how she’s up for anything and completely unapologetic about it. Just like me.

Despite the obvious, this is truly a slow-build relationship. Both Allie and Dean have a lot they must work through not only as friends, but as individuals. Dean’s true character has a chance to shine, and I enjoyed discovering all his complex layers. I was really frustrated with him at times, but he really won me over in the closing chapters. There is a lot humor and quick whit by both Dean and Allie, and I found myself giggling constantly. In addition to the humor, there are some steamy and gut wrenching moments that completely blew me away.  Of course, there are plenty of cameo appearances from previous couples, I enjoy never saying goodbye to characters, and feel confident the gang will be back in full force for the next book. This series has become one of my favorite NA Series. I highly recommend this series to any NA or sports themed reader and can’t wait for the fourth installment.

four starOne Click-001Amazon: http://amzn.to/1hQjG67
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-score-elle-…/1122824500…
Itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1050857569

Meet The Author-001A New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author, Elle Kennedy grew up in the suburbs of Toronto, Ontario, and holds a B.A. in English from York University. From an early age, she knew she wanted to be a writer, and actively began pursuing that dream when she was a teenager.

Elle writes romantic suspense and erotic contemporary romance for various publishers. She loves strong heroines and sexy alpha heroes, and just enough heat and danger to keep things interesting!

Website: http://www.ellekennedy.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorElleKennedy/?fref=ts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ElleKennedy
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1935000.Elle_Kennedy

Leave a Reply

