Review – Dirty Promises by Karina Halle

dpbannerSynopsis

Blood. Sex. Revenge.

Being king comes at a brutal price.

Drug lord Javier Bernal has sliced and diced his way to the top of the Mexican drug trade, presiding over the country’s largest cartel. But his rise to power comes at a brutal price: the death of his sister, Alana. Devastated and wracked with guilt, he turns away from his new wife, Luisa, forcing their marriage into a steady decline. But it isn’t until she’s pushed into the waiting arms of Esteban Mendoza, his right-hand man, that Javier realizes everything he’s lost.

And it isn’t until he learns the truth about Alana, that he realizes everything there is to gain.

Blood will spill.

Cities will burn.

Heads will roll.

Because Javier will stop at nothing until he gets what he wants.

And what he wants is raw, ruthless revenge.

Dirty Promises is the third and final book in the Dirty Angels Trilogy. While the other two books – Dirty Angels and Dirty Deeds – can be read as standalones, it is recommended you read at least Dirty Angels before reading Dirty Promises.

dpteaser2-1

One Click-001

Amazon: www.amzn.com/B015D8LL3S
B&N:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dirty-promises-karina-halle/1122419568?ean=2940152062083#productInfoTabs
iTunes:  https://geo.itunes.apple.com/ca/book/dirty-promises/id1024441706?mt=11
Kobo:  https://store.kobobooks.com/en-CA/ebook/dirty-promises
Rebecca Review-001From the author:
People sensitive to violence and immoral characters who make questionable decisions should refrain from reading this book. The real cartel life is not pretty, not easy and certainly NOT romantic and that is more than reflected in Dirty Promises.

It is no secret Karina Halle is one of my top three favorite authors, I’ve read and loved every book she has written. Going in to this book, I knew it was going to be a difficult story that would push all my personal boundaries as a reader. Javier is not simply a bad boy with a good soul, he is very bad man. My advice to any reader of this book is to leave all preconceived notions and ideas about want you will and will not read about characters and storylines. I encourage you to go into this book with a completely open mind and allow Karina Halle to take you on ride you will never forget. I was hooked from the Prologue, and couldn’t turn away if I tried. I never knew what was happening from one chapter to the next. It was the only way Luisa and Javier would tell their story and it was gut wrenching until the last page.

We were slaved to hate because hate was strong and we sacrificed love to fuel it.

There is no character I love to hate more than Javier Bernal. From the moment I first started reading Sins and Needles over 2.5 years ago, this man has affected me like few characters. Whether good or bad, the last thing I have ever felt for him is indifferent. In that respect, this book was more difficult for me than those who have come to love him. While I came to appreciate his character more in Dirty Angels, that was nothing compared to my experience in this book. For the first time, I truly came to understand his inner physique and thought process. Ms. Halle transformed me into the mind and feelings of the enigma that is Javier. I didn’t feel as if I was reading his thoughts, but actually looking into his mind and soul, and he does have one.

An anti-hero was still a hero in the end but I would never be more than a villain.

It speaks volumes about an author when a reader loves the story despite the character themselves. The events that unfold are realistic and true to the cartel life. I appreciate this fact immensely. Yes, there are vile torture scenes, sexual assaults, and heinous murders. However, that is the true life these characters live and to portray anything less would be an injustice to their story. Despite some of the graphic scenes, I was never overwhelmed. There is a perfect balance of events without dwelling on certain aspects that readers are more likely to be judgmental about. Luisa undergoes such an transformation during this book and I was on edge throughout the process. I love flawed heroines that refuse to simply give up and accept events. It takes an unique woman to love and understand Javier.

“Oh, we both know I am not and never will be a lady.”

While I will never likely buy a Team Javier T-shirt, I have truly come to admire his character and story. I can’t wait to see what insane ride Ms. Halle will take us on next, and I’ll definitely be in the front seat waiting. She continues to prove that she is one of the most versatile authors in this industry.
5starExcerptAll my life, I thought I could operate under my own code of morals and ideals. It was no different than most, I supposed. The cop who has to shoot someone in self-defense. The soldiers that go to war and raid villages in the name of freedom. Everyone makes excuses for what they do, because they believe in it. Because they believe they are in the right.

I had always thought of myself as a somewhat civilized, almost classy, narco. I at least wanted to bring purpose and grace to what I did. I didn’t believe in killing mercilessly. I believed in mercy, in forgiveness, in giving people second chances. I believed in letting people go after I got what I wanted from them.

I believed that to snitch was an outrage, that even though we were dealing and fighting and killing to be in a billion dollar industry. I believed that religious celebrations were to be respected. I believed that family came first. I believed that women and children would not be harmed.

For a moment, I thought that perhaps I had lost my mind. Never mind the needless, senseless deaths that were already at my hands over the last few months. Never mind that I had broken promises to others, to myself. Dirty, filthy promises. It was then and only then that I knew I had lost who I was. That every moral fibre that I based myself on was threadbare and I was close, oh so close, to losing all sense of myself forever.

It scared me. I watched Luisa leave the room and though I was reeling from her own words, the callous ones that reached deep inside me and left a scar, I knew I might have damaged her beyond repair. I could heal myself in time, but could she? Would we?

I didn’t think so.

Meet The Author-001karinaauthorKarina Halle is a former travel writer and music journalist and The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Bestselling author of Where Sea Meets Sky, Racing the Sun, The Pact, Love, in English, The Artists Trilogy, Dirty Angels and over 20 other wild and romantic reads. She lives on an island off the coast of British Columbia with her husband and her rescue pup, where she drinks a lot of wine, hikes a lot of trails and devours a lot of books.

Halle is represented by the Waxman Leavell Agency and is both self-published and published by Atria Books/Simon & Schuster and Hachette in North America and in the UK.

Hit her up on Instagram at @authorHalle , on Twitter at @MetalBlonde and on Facebook. You can also visit www.authorkarinahalle.com and sign up for the newsletter for news, excerpts, previews, private book signing sales and more.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Karina-Halle/140649372629593
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MetalBlonde
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4785031.Karina_Halle?from_search=true
AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE: http://www.amazon.com/Karina-Halle/e/B0050KE63C/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1407546895&sr=8-2-ent

 

Leave a Reply

