The Hidden Library by Heather Lyons – Review, Giveaway, and Excerpt

THL Tour Banner
SynopsisSometimes, the rabbit hole is deeper than expected . . .

Alice Reeve and Finn Van Brunt have tumbled into a life of secrets. Some secrets they share, such as their employment by the clandestine organization known as The Collectors’ Society. Other secrets they carry within them, fighting to keep buried the things that could change everything they think they know.

On the hunt for an elusive villain who is hell-bent on destroying legacies, Alice, Finn, and the rest of the Society are desperate to unravel the mysteries surrounding them. But the farther they spiral down this rabbit hole, the deeper they fall into secrets that will test their loyalties and pit them against enemies both new and old.

THLTeaser1

One Click-001
Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1CMm6eI

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1AbuX7I

Amazon US paperback: http://amzn.to/1Bhongl

B&N: http://bit.ly/1C1HrAK

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1M87b0Y

iBooks: http://bit.ly/1CeTrcO

Review-001Rebecca’s Review

This is the second book in The Collectors’ Society Series. Please proceed with caution if you have not read TCS.  Otherwise, my review is spoiler free.  You can see my review of the first book: http://wp.me/p4htUH-j9

The Collectors’ Society was hands down the most unique book of 2014. I couldn’t wait for the opportunity to immerse myself in this world once again and see what new adventures would lie ahead for Finn, Alice, and the other members. Unlike its predecessor, The Hidden Library is written with Alice and Finn as narrators. I absolutely loved this new element.  Finn is such a passionate character and seeing his inner thoughts and feelings added so much depth. We finally learn much of Finn’s past and the events that led him to New York. As always, Alice is the dominating and tough heroine I have come to love completely. They are the most dynamic of duos and Finn treats Alice as his equal, his partner. Few heroes and heroines share the intense connection and trust these two have for one another.

Our story is just getting started and, no damn author is going to write it.  We will.  

Since it a TCS book, there is a ton of action. Finn and Alice definitely have their fair share moments of attempting to save worlds. Danger exists on multiple fronts and their worlds are constantly in danger. However, the best moments are the intimate and loving moments.  I can’t describe how much I loved seeing the closeness of Finn and Alice not only with one another, but with others. Their connection is often overshadowed by outside forces surrounding them. Watching their relationship blossom was complete bliss.

He enchants me more.  He kisses me, because he knows.  He knows me. He knows my heart.  He has become part of my heart.

This series has the most distinct cast of supporting characters. Many that were introduced in TCS have returned. I enjoyed seeing Jace again and hope he turns for the third book. His devotion to Alice defines what love should be. Victor has quietly taken a huge piece of my heart, and I want desperately to find out his complete story and connection to Mary. There are also many new intriguing characters added, as well. I have never been a spider fan until this book. However, I had developed a certain fondness for one now. I am constantly awed by the extraordinary people and events Lyons has created.

The ending is complete anguish. I kept clicking my Kindle trying to make another chapter appear, and it just would NOT work. I will be anxiously awaiting to see what happens to my beloved Finn and Alice. I can’t recommend this series enough. It is one of the most unique and well rounded series I have read. It defies all genres.

5starGiveaway-001
Enter the below Rafflecopter to win signed copies of THL and TCS!
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/OTE3MmMxYTA5NWI0YjhkMjZkNWU0YzM1M2E1YzU2OjIzMg==/
Excerpt

The book was big and heavy and seemed to take up the width of the love seat we were crammed onto, two teenagers and their mother, but Katrina didn’t mind. For such a beautiful, fragile-looking woman, she was strong. Brom would tease her about it, but that’s all it was—teasing. Everyone at the Institute knew that Katrina was the backbone of everything. Katrina had nerves of steel, and a stare that could cut down the densest forest. Her heart was massive and her belief in doing the right thing was astounding. She was strong, both physically and emotionally, and it was one of the things that I loved best about my mother.

She tried so hard with me. So, so hard. She never let me run, and the truth was, because of her, I eventually stopped wanting to. She’s the one who taught me that settling down was an okay thing. She’s the one who taught me I could let my defenses go and rely upon family. That opening up my heart didn’t mean losing myself like I once feared.

“Why is this book important?” she asked us that afternoon.

Victor looked across the space and met my eyes. He rolled his and I fought back the urge to laugh. I liked Victor. He was smart—smarter than Sawyer, but he never lorded it over me. He sounded so smart, too, and for the first few weeks I was at the Institute, I was too embarrassed to speak around him. Some of the kids in the neighborhood told me I spoke like some hillbilly hick on TV, one that should have all their teeth missing and live in the swamps with gators or have fleas or something equally horrifying and yet all too painfully realistic. I nearly got my ass kicked a number of times and a few black eyes when I did talk to those kids because language changed over the years. Attitudes and society had changed for the better. Words I grew up with were no longer okay to use, and it scared the shit out of me that I never knew that before coming to New York. I wasn’t smart like any of the rest of them. I didn’t have the schooling or upbringing they all did. It didn’t take long to realize I was that hick they said I was. But Victor, smart, clean, cultured Victor, never got on me about any of those things. Granted, Katrina would have verbally tanned his hide had he, but still.

I let Victor answer Katrina’s question, because I was afraid to say something stupid. Hell, even with all the tutors they’d hired for me, reading was still something I struggled with at that point, so it wasn’t like I could even tell either of them what the title was.

“It’s a book of fairy tales,” he said. “Popular ones.”

It wasn’t the answer she wanted, but she didn’t belittle him for it. “Why do we need fairy tales?” But before he could answer, she said, “Huck?”

Katrina was the last person I ever allowed to call me Huck, but even she stopped when I changed my name permanently.

My tongue felt thick, and I think I may have even started to sweat as they waited for my answer. I debated not answering, actually. But then I looked into her eyes and understood that she genuinely wanted to hear what I had to say.

So I told her, “They give people hope for happy endings.”

“You are so right.” She’d smiled. It was so beautiful, like that of one of the princesses’ pictured within the thick volume. I loved those smiles of hers, and she was so generous with them. “It’s funny, so many of the stories within this book are actually dark and rather violent, and yet, over time, we have come to associate fairy tales with the happiest endings we could ever imagine. This book represents the undying belief in good that people have. That’s the power of books, boys. Stories such as these endure because of hope.”

Children’s and Household Tales, otherwise known as Grimm’s Fairy Tales, was the first book I voluntarily ever read once I knew how. And it was all because my mother taught me to hold on to hope.

My mother did not get a happy ending.

“They’ll pay for what they did.” My vow is quiet. Angry. “Make no mistake about that.”

Meet The Author-001
Author Photo
Heather Lyons writes epic, heartfelt love stories and has always had a thing for words. In addition to writing, she’s also been an archaeologist and a teacher. She and her husband and children live in sunny Southern California and are currently working their way through every cupcakery she can find.

InkSlinger

One response to “The Hidden Library by Heather Lyons – Review, Giveaway, and Excerpt

  1. Pingback: The Hidden Library Blog Tour | Heather Lyons·

Leave a Reply

