Rebound by Noelle August – Review and Giveaway

ReboundPB c
Synopsis
Second Book of the Boomerang Series

At Boomerang, one night can change everything…

Adam Blackwood has it all. At twenty-two, he’s fabulously wealthy, Ryan Gosling-hot and at the top of his game in the business world. His life is perfect, until a scandal from his past resurfaces and threatens to knock the tech wunderkind down and throw his company, Boomerang, a hook-up site for millennials, into chaos.

Alison Quick, the twenty-one-year-old daughter of a business tycoon—and the very ex-girlfriend of Boomerang’s former intern, Ethan—has a problem of her own. After nearly flunking out in her senior year of college, she has one chance to redeem herself to her father by proving that she deserves a place in his corporate empire. That means spearheading her father’s plan to sink big money into Adam’s company and launch it into the stratosphere—provided Adam has no skeletons in his closet.

When the two meet, their sizzling chemistry makes it tough to keep things strictly professional. But when Alison discovers Adam’s secret, she knows she should bring it right to her father, who’ll leverage it for his own gain and use it to ruin Adam. The only problem: she’s falling for Adam—hard.

Will earning her father’s approval come at the price of losing her first real love? Or can Adam and Alison leave behind past mistakes and conquer the world—together?

Review-001
“For people on the rebound.”

I adored Boomerang and couldn’t wait to read the next story in this fun series.  Adam was quite mysterious in the previous installment, and I was thrilled to have the opportunity to learn his full story.  I wasn’t a big fan of Alison, but was intrigued as to how she she would present herself in this book.  Much to complete surprise, it didn’t take long at all to become a complete fan of Alison.  I loved seeing her true character shine and become a likeable heroine.

I know that the choice of one moment can turn your life inside out, robbing you of everything you thought you wanted. 

Adam and Ali’s relationship starts off with a sexy bang but hits a major road block soon after.  I’m not a usual fan of insta-lust, however, it works well in this storyline and felt completely believable. Despite their one moment, real life events quickly trump their possible connection. I loved the dual Point Of Views, because both are concealing so much, not only from themselves but each other.  It was vital being inside their feelings and thoughts.  I especially loved Adam’s inner dialogue and turmoil.

It makes me want to let her in and tell her everything.  The whole f**ing sob story of life. 

This series reminds me of when I first fell in love with NA writing a few year ago.  It has the perfect balance of angst, humor, and sexiness.  I laughed, swooned, and smiled, a lot.  I also felt tension but never in a negative way.  There is no over the top drama or endless angst that seems to be plaguing NA books so often these days.  It is a well written romance that represents only the best qualities of what NA should be.

I adore all the supporting cast in this series. It also was nice seeing Mia and Ethan again and to know they are doing awesome.  Adam’s younger brother, Grey, also plays a pivotal role in this book.  I suspect he will be a main character in the next installment, which I can’t wait to hear about.  If you are looking for an “old school” NA series, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this one!

four starOne Click-001Amazon
B&N
IndieBound

Excerpt
Ali laughs. Her gaze feels like sunshine on my back, but I don’t turn around. I pull my wetsuit up to my waist, adjusting myself so I’m comfortable. The cool Neoprene layer feels familiar and my body responds, my heart thumping hard, anticipation rushing through my veins. The prospect of the ocean always does this to me. This has nothing to do with the girl behind me.

“Adam?”

Ali’s voice is close. Turning, I almost bump into her.

Her wetsuit is all the way on, which is good. And terrible.

“What’s up?” I ask.

She smells like suntan oil and peaches. This close, I see that her cheeks are turning slightly pink from the sun. With her hair pulled back, no makeup, and the wetsuit covering her completely, she looks better than she has all week at the office. Better than she did in the Catwoman costume. There’s something powerful about her now. The way her slender legs are planted firmly on the swaying boat, like she’s not trying at all. She’s at home on the water. This from an admitted equestrian. I can only imagine what she’s like with her horses.

“Sorry, but . . .” She smiles and points at her back. “My zipper’s jammed.” She turns around and pulls her ponytail up. “Can you help me out?”

“Sure. You want this on, right? Just want to be sure.”

I can’t see her face, but I know she’s smiling. “Yes. On please.”

I allow myself a moment to enjoy the way she looks right in front of me. Then I take the zipper leash, letting my knuckles drift over her back, just above the knot of her bikini.

If I weren’t completely focused on her, I’d have missed the way she curls slightly toward me.

Focus, Blackwood. Zip the wetsuit up.

Meet The Author-001
Question
: What do you get when friends pen a story with heart, plenty of laughs, and toe-curling kissing scenes? Answer: Noelle August, the pseudonym for renowned editor and award-winning writer Lorin Oberweger and New York Times bestselling YA author Veronica Rossi, the masterminds behind the Boomerang series. You can visit them at NoelleAugust.com, @Noelle_August, and facebook.com/NoelleAugustBooks.

Giveaway-001Enter HERE to win one of three copies of Boomerang

Leave a Reply

