Better When He’s Bold by Jay Crownover – Review, Giveaway, and Excerpt

BWHB Review and excerpt tour banner

Synopsis
From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jay Crownover, comes the second book in a combustible new series, Welcome to the Point, that is sexier, darker, and better than ever.

There’s a difference between a bad boy and a boy who is bad. . . . Welcome to the Point.

In a dark and broken kingdom, a ruler has be fearless to control the streets and the ruthless people who run them. Race Hartman is just bold enough, just smart enough, and just lost enough to wear the crown. Places like The Point will always have bad things and bad people, but the man in control of all that badness can minimize the devastation. Race has a plan, but can he prevent total annihilation without destroying himself?

Brysen Carter has always seen the real Race—a guy too pretty, too smooth, and way too dangerous. Basking in his golden glow is very tempting, but Brysen knows she’ll eventually get burned. She has enough problems without the risky danger and mayhem that comes with a guy like Race. Too bad Brysen faces a threat close to home that might be more dangerous than anything The Point has ever produced.. And the only person interested in keeping her safe is the one man she can’t allow herself to have.

Sometimes being bold is the only way to stay alive. But can she let Race save her life . . . if it means losing herself to him?

BWHBold Teaser 1Review-001
I adore Jay Crownover and have enjoyed all her books.  I found Race Hartman quite intriguing in BWHB and couldn’t wait to read his story.  This book was action from the first page to the last.  Add a scorching relationship, a little mystery, and Ms. Crownover has once again created another hit.  Race definitely shows why he is the King of The Point.

The Point might be a rotting kingdom, but it was my rotting kingdom and I couldn’t abide by an outsider trying to tear it down.

Brysen was introduced in BWHB, as a friend and co-worker of Dovie.  However, we quickly learn there is much more to her character than the perfect facade we have seen in the past.  She gives up a great deal to help take care of her family. She also has a special relationship with her younger sister that is heart warming. I immediately adored Brysen.  She is resilient; struggling to balancing college, work, and her unwavering attraction to Race.  No matter how she tries, she finds herself drawn to him.

That was the danger of Race, always making me want what I couldn’t and shouldn’t have. 

While Race makes it abundantly clear he is not a “good guy”, you can not help but fall in love with him.  Once Race decides he wants Brysen, even if only temporary, there’s no denying their connection.  She brings out the best in him and he brings a much needed spark into her life.  While there is angst, it not drawn out for endless chapters.  There are several twists and turns that kept me on my toes.  I was never bored throughout the entire book.  I loved being in Race’s head and learning what makes him tick.  He is definitely unique among JC’s leading men, not to mention sexy.

“I’m at my best when I’m being bold.”

It was nice seeing Bax, Dovie, and Titus again.  Their lives continue to intersection with Race and Brysen.  That is one of the many things I love about JC’s books.  You never truly say goodbye to previous couples.  They are front and present in additional stories. We are also introduced to a few new intriguing characters, as well.  I have endless theories about future books and what characters will be featured.  I am certainly loving my time at The Point and can’t wait for the next book!  ~ Rebecca

four_half-stars_

One Click-001Amazon
Barnes and Noble
iBooks
Kobo
Indiebound

Giveaway-001Enter to win a $25 gift card below!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Excerpt

I nodded stiffly and bent over to get my laptop out from under the seat where I stashed it. When I turned back around, I felt heat rush into my face because bent over like that, I had clearly given Race the opportunity to check my ass out at its best. The green in his eyes had turned to something much darker, and I gulped nervously.

“What’s wrong with the computer?”

I held it protectively against my chest while his eyes rolled over me. It was unnerving to be the sole focus of a guy like Race. I felt like he was trying to get a look inside me, like he was systematically trying to figure out all the bits and pieces that made me tick.

“I don’t know. I turned it on and the screen was just blue. I know it’s bad, but everything I need for school is in there, so I have to do something.”

He lifted a sandy brow and reached for the laptop. “You don’t back anything up on an external drive or on an outside database, like Google Drive?”

I groaned and shoved my palms into my eye sockets. “Really, Race? If I was smart enough to do that, do you think I would be praying that you can fix it? Nothing is ever that easy in my life.”

He just watched me, his mouth turning down in a little frown. I much preferred that look on his exquisite face to the one he wore when he was flashing that sexy dimple at me. It was easier to resist.

“When do you need it back by?”

“I have a paper on there that is due tomorrow, but the teacher is pretty cool and will let me slide until Monday if I explain the situation. What I really need are my Math Theory notes. I have an evil TA who’s got it in for me because I turned him down when he asked me out. I’m barely passing the class, and without the notes, I’m beyond screwed.”

His eyes sank even further into midnight and his frown got even tighter. His broad chest rose and fell as he took a deep breath and let it out slowly.

His eyebrows dipped low over those dark eyes, and his voice was even rougher than normal when he asked me, “What is going on with you, Brysen? Why does every single thing you’ve said to me tonight make me want to hurt things and various people?”

I gulped a little and shivered as we just watched each other silently.

“Life isn’t always fun and games, Race. You have to know that better than most people.”

He shook his blond head and took a step back from me. I really, really wanted to reach out and snatch him back. He was so bad for my self-control.

“No, it’s not, but you’re a good girl and too pretty for words. Things shouldn’t be that hard for you.”

Well, they were, and I was just going to have to live with it.

“Do you think you can save it?”

He took another step back and grinned. I swear everything that made me female melted and turned liquid when that dimple indented his cheek.

“I’m pretty skilled at whatever I put my mind to, Brysen.”

The sexy undercurrent made me want to whimper.

“When do you think I can have it back?”

“Give me your number. I have a bunch of shit to take care of tomorrow, but after that’s all handled, I’ll look at it. Give me until the weekend.”

That was only three days. Aside from Math Theory, I should be able to make do until then. I rattled off my number and scowled when he didn’t pull out his phone to enter it in.

“You’re going to remember that?” I hated that I sounded like I was pouting about it.

“I won’t forget it, Bry. Everything about you is very memorable.”

Ugh … that kiss. It was going to haunt me forever. I shifted uneasily and pushed off the car.

 

Meet The Author-001headshot-9-1-1
Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men and The Point series. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.

Website:
Blog:
Facebook:
Twitter:

And don’t miss the previous books in The Point Series!
Better When He’s Bad

Blogger Button-8

2 responses to “Better When He’s Bold by Jay Crownover – Review, Giveaway, and Excerpt

Leave a Reply

