Living with Regret by Lisa de Jong Review and Giveaway

Living with Regret_ebooklg

Synopsis
Rain Series #3

I had my whole life mapped out. Perfect guy. Perfect friends. Everything was exactly the way I wanted it.

That was until that night–the one I can’t remember. It’s all my fault, and now the memories are all I have left of him. Of us.

My guilt drowns me until Sam Shea steps back into my life and helps me to the surface. He slowly opens my heart and crawls deep inside before I even realize what’s happening. I know I don’t deserve him.

While I’m trying to get used to my new life, pieces of that night slowly start to come back to me. Lies and secrets shatter everything I thought I knew.

Maybe I’m not the only one living with regret.

Review-001

I have read all the books in this series and absolutely LOVED When it Rains.  I could not wait to get my hands on Rachel’s story, who plays a minor role in previous books.    A devastating event occurs in the Prologue and Rachel is faced with picking up the pieces of her shattered life.  She seems to have lost any true friends and loses the one person who seems to have loved her most.

Things have changed now, and nothing will ever be the same.  Everything I thought, felt, wanted is gone, and I’d do anything to have him back. 

Enter, Sam, Rachel’s childhood friend and first crush.  They haven’t been close in years but he’s suddenly there to help mend her broken heart.  Perhaps it is because After the Rain was an angst filled cry-fest, but I found myself struggling with the lack of an emotional back-story.  Obviously, Sam and Rachel shared a deep past connections, but I did not feel that intensity from her. Maybe if there had been more flashbacks or events from the past that demonstrated her connection to Sam; there were some connections, just not enough.  The book is told from Rachel’s POV, so you never see what Sam is thinking or feeling during the story.  Yes, there is angst and my heart ached immensely for both Sam and Rachel.  However, I just had really high expectations for their connection and it fell short for me.  I adored Sam, and his devotion to Rachel was endearing.  He was the quite but strong hero that she seemed to need.

Some girls wait their whole life for their fairytale to come along, and mine is standing right in front of me.

I think most Rain Series fans will enjoy this heartbreaking but beautiful love story.  I also loved seeing smalls bits of Beau and Kate.

While it can be read as a standalone, I highly recommend reading the previous books of the series.  It will give you a foundation for Rachel’s character and you will love the other beautiful stories.

four star

One Click-001Amazon: http://amzn.to/1sJldOa
B&N: http://bit.ly/1sJl0ur
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id929158101
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1wvNZ3A

Giveaway-001
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Meet The Author-001
IMG_0192
Lisa De Jong is a wife, mother and full-time number cruncher who lives in the Midwest. Her writing journey involved insane amounts of coffee and many nights of very little sleep but she wouldn’t change a thing. She also enjoys reading, football and music. She is the author of When It Rains, After the Rain, Plastic Hearts and Glass Hearts.

Contact: lisadejongwrites@gmail.com, @LisaDeJongBooks

 

Leave a Reply

