Becoming Calder/Finding Eden by Mia Sheridan Review

10580178_983917091622014_3494659400020278690_n (1)

21405545 There is a place in modern day America with no electricity, no plumbing, and no modern conveniences. In this place, there is no room for dreams, no space for self-expression, and no tolerance for ambition.

In this place, there is a boy with the body of a God and the heart of a warrior. He is strong and faithful and serves his family honorably. But he dares to dream of more.

In this place, there is a girl with the face of an angel and a heart full of courage. To her family, she is the vision of obedient perfection. But she dares to want that which she has been told can never be hers.

Becoming Calder is the story of good versus evil, fear versus bravery, and the truth that the light of love has always found its way into even the darkest of places… From the beginning of time, to the end of the world.

Review-001

“If I were just a boy and you were just a girl, I wouldn’t kiss you once like you asked.  Eden, I’d kiss you long, and I’d kiss you often.”

I went into Becoming Calder with little background.  I had scanned a teaser a few months ago, and along with the cover, somehow envisioned the story taking place on a Native America Reservation.  I was totally off the mark but was elated that see it takes place in Arizona.  From the Prologue, this book is completely memorizing.  You are given a glimpse of Eden and have no idea what is unfolding. I went back to the Prologue on at least five occasions while reading the book.  After a powerful beginning, Mia immediately begins the story of Calder and Eden as a small boy and girl.  What happens next is a complex love story spanning several years.  The struggles these two, especially Calder, endure is heartbreaking.  Despite all the hardships, they find happiness and beauty in the smallest things.

Morning Glory.  As pretty as a flower, as strong as a weed.

I do not want to spoil anything for a reader and to post more specifics would take away from the story.  Just know you are going to be told an amazing story of love and perseverance.  Becoming Calder ends with a monstrous cliffhanger. Thankfully, Mia decided not to torture her readers and you will be able to dive right into Finding

5star
Calder

 

22847812Review-001To say I loved these two books would be an understatement.  As a whole, it is one of my top three reads of the entire year.  Mia is a beautiful storyteller.  She utilizes symbolism in such an amazing way and it flows throughout both books. I wanted to crawl into these books and live.  There are no words  that will adequately convey how these stories affected me; you have to experience it first hand to truly appreciate its beauty.

“Maybe if you find the love in any situation, even the most horrifying ones, maybe that’s where God is.” 

While I loved Becoming Calder, I was not prepared for the intensity I felt for Finding Eden. I had chills throughout the entire book.  I kept thinking to myself, “This is why I read!”.  It has been a long time since a book moved me like this one.  The first 25% is absolutely breath stopping.  I was literally sick not knowing what would happen.  Mia Sheridan has created a magnificent story no author can surpass in 2014.  If  you pick just one set of books to read this year, let it be these!  ~ Rebecca

5star

One Click-001
Pre-Order:    www.amzn.com/B00NBJCTN8

Leave a Reply

