5 STARS Review – What If by Rebecca Donovan

whatif
Synopsis
Releasing September 16th

What if you had a second chance to meet someone for the first time?

Cal Logan is shocked to see Nicole Bentley sitting across from him at a coffee shop thousands of miles from their hometown. After all, no one has seen or heard from her since they graduated over a year ago.

Except this girl isn’t Nicole.

She looks exactly like Cal’s shy childhood crush, but her name is Nyelle Preston and she has no idea who he is. This girl is impulsive and daring, her passion for life infectious. The complete opposite of Nicole. Cal finds himself utterly fascinated-and falling hard. But Nyelle is also extremely secretive. And the closer he comes to finding out what she’s hiding, the less he wants to know.

When the secrets from the past and present collide, one thing becomes clear: Nothing is what it seems.

Review-001
Often times you read books and love them but rarely do you read a book that touches your soul.  For me, What If, is one of those unique books.  I not only loved this story, but it left me pondering my own life and relationships with those around me.  This book unfolds like a symphony; there are multiple layers and in order to fully appreciate it, you must experience the entire piece.  I had no idea of the direction it was headed throughout most of the book, and that is the beauty of it.

There are many times I think about a decision I’ve made and wonder, “What if I had done it differently. Who would I be?  What would my life be like.  What if…”

There are multiple points of view for the story but the primary ones are Cal and Nyelle.  While I am not usually a fan of flashbacks, they work exceptionally well in this storyline.  There are small moments in the past that are pivotal to Cal and Nyelle’s relationship.  As a reader, the best way to deliver them is with the flashbacks.  Some things “appear” to be obvious but are they really?

“You’re the first person to ever make me feel beautiful.”

I adored Cal from the first few chapters.  He is the kind of friend you want to have and eventually fall in love with. So much of Cal and Nyelle’s life is shaped by those closest to them. There is an outstanding supporting cast, including childhood friends and family.  While I immediately loved Cal, I could not say the same thing for Nyelle.  She is a complete enigma and it took me most of the book to truly understand her.   It was difficult  not to form opinions about her until the story was complete. She has a beautiful soul and I truly loved her outlook on life.

“I love looking at the stars.  They can take away your pain and distant, like a memory.”

There are numerous twists and turns that unfold throughout the story.  My advice is to not even bother trying to unravel them because you will not!  Just take a deep breath and enjoy the journey.  While this book is vastly different from The Breathing Trilogy, I think Rebecca Donovan fans will fall in love with What If just the same. ~ Rebecca

5star

What If

Goodreads-001

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19189481-what-if

Meet The Author-001

slide3-623x440

I’m a passionate (and some would say overly enthusiastic) individual. I learn by doing (and have been burned more times than I’d like to admit). But I will always throw my entire self into whatever I do–fail or succeed.

Website:  www.rebeccadonovan.com
What If wesbite: http://whatif.rebeccadonovan.com/#/index

Leave a Reply

