Night Owl by M. Pierce – Blog Tour, Interview, Giveaway, and Review

Night Owl Blog Tour Banner-1

Night Owl Paperback Cover-1

Synopsis

“Tautly written, complex, and vibrating with a dark sensuality that will have you at once blushing and anxious. You’ll think you have this book pegged . . . but you’ll be wrong.”—Christina Lauren, New York Times, USA Today, and international bestselling authors of The Beautiful Bastard series

From bestselling ebook author M. Pierce comes the first novel in a provocative erotic trilogy where an anonymous online writing partnership turns into an uncontrollable, passionate obsession

At twenty-eight, Matt Sky has the perfect life. He has a beautiful girlfriend, a massive inheritance, and four national bestsellers — all penned under his airtight alias, M. Pierce.

At twenty-seven, Hannah Catalano is a train wreck. Her boyfriend is a deadbeat and her job is abysmal.

Matt and Hannah meet online as writing partners. Their relationship is safe, anonymous, and innocent…

Until Matt sees a picture of Hannah. Hannah’s picture sparks an attraction Matt is powerless to ignore. When circumstance brings Matt and Hannah together, the strangers begin a love story that’s passionate, poignant, unforgettable, and unstoppable.

 

Interview-001

We were honored with the privilege to interview both Matt and Hannah for our blog tour!  You don’t want to miss what they have to tell us…

Interview with Matt:

DDBA – You mentioned authors writing book after book trying to hit the bulls-eye.  Do you feel you’ve hit the bulls-eye yet?  If not, how close are you? 

Matt It’s hard to say. I like some of my books more than others (Ten Thousand Nights is a personal favorite), but I’m biased. I’m too close to them, you know? Looking at another author’s work, it’s easy for me to say – “this is his best” – but looking at my own work? Different story.

DDBA – Some readers consider you a “cheater”?  How do you respond?  

MattHa! A cheater, huh? Well, guilty as charged. I cheated on Bethany like a son of a bitch. You’ll get no excuses from me.

It was a mistake, though. A crime of passion. I regret it… wish I’d done things differently. Some people say, “Once a cheater, always a cheater.” Hey, that’s just not true. I’ll never cheat on Hannah. Never. 

DDBA- What would be your perfect vacation with Hannah?

MattMm. Nothing extravagant. I’d like to take her to Montana. I own some property there. You know, get away from the city… away from the media, work, the public eye. We could stay at a cabin and do some hiking and camping. Being alone with Hannah is heaven. I have this ridiculous vision of her sitting by a fireplace, wearing nothing but an oversized sweater. You can see where my imagination is going.

But I want other things, too. I want to see her outdoors, happy, laughing, the sunlight in her hair. She deserves the best of everything. I’d love to sit with her at the end of a dock, our feet in the water. Just talking. Or kissing. Or fucking on a blanket in the middle of an aspen grove, no one for miles. Only the sound of the win.

Yeah. Something like that. True peace. 

DDBA- What is your favorite book of 2014?

Matt- Does The Surrogate count? Kidding, kidding. I haven’t read anything published this year, which is a shame.

DDBA- How did you decide to pick Laurence for a pet?  Any fun news to report about everyone’s favorite rabbit? 

Matt- When I moved out to Colorado, I had no real friends, no family nearby, nothing. And in some ways, I moved to CO to achieve that state of isolation. But it was too absolute. Anyway, I heard that rabbits are low-maintenance, clean, quiet – and I thought, what the hell? I was walking around the mall one day and wandered into the pet store. They’d just gotten a new “shipment” of rabbits, however that works. Basically there was a big open pen with about twelve rabbits in it, all of them running around. Only Laurence had unique markings. I said to the lady, “Can you get that one out for me?” I hadn’t made up my mind yet. Well, she put on these gloves and tried to get him. And he ran. He ran all over that pen. Just wanted to be left alone, you know? Not to put too fine a point on it, but I kind of know how he felt.

DDBA- Can you give us any hints about Last Light?

Mattt- Ha. You want spoilers, huh? Well… I’m alive. So there’s that.

Really, you’ll have to wait and see. I can tell you that you’ll get to meet my brother Seth. And Seth and I don’t exactly… see eye to eye.

Interview with Hannah:

DDBA- How did you and Matt begin writing together in the first place? 

Hannah- Matt started it. I totally blame him. For everything.

He put a post on a writing forum. He sounded like a HUGE jerk. Basically he said he was looking for a collaborative writing partner – nothing serious, just fun storytelling (to take his mind off his fiction, I think) – and that he’d be “vetting candidates.” I still make fun of him about this. He was like, “Please know how to spell. I expect timely replies. I reserve the right to drop you at any time.” Such a snob, oh my god. So… a ton of people read the post, and nobody replied. Of course. Because he sounded so rude! But I thought he also sounded… interesting, and demanding in a good way. Like maybe he would challenge me to be a better writer, you know?

So I decided to give it a try. I replied, and I said, “I know how to spell, and I can handle being dropped. Can you?” He got a real kick out of that. The rest is recent history.

DDBA- How are you liking your job?  Anything exciting to share about it? 

Hannah- I absolutely love my job, thanks for asking! It’s my dream job. I still can’t believe I’m an assistant to an agent. My goal is to get hired on as a partner, like an associate agent. We’ll see. Pam is really intimidating, but she seems impressed with my work.

I spend most of my workdays reading manuscripts from authors who want to be represented by the agency. Pam calls it “drudge work,” but to me it’s the most thrilling thing. Every one of those manuscripts could be the next huge bestseller. I’d love to be a part of that process – discovering new talent, refining it, getting that book into the hands of a publisher.

Matt’s new novel, The Surrogate, comes out soon. We’re all excited, so that’s the buzz at the agency lately. I just saw the book cover for it, and it’s gorgeous.

DDBA- Anything Matt says or does that still makes you tongue tied?

Hannah- Oh my gosh… everything. I kind of hate it. And I love it. Ugh. I swear, I’m not usually so stupid around guys. There’s just something about Matt. Like, waking up next to him… watching him wake up… seeing his hair all crazy in the morning. So fucking adorable. And so hot. Blah. Also, watching this guy walk around our condo in nothing but boxers? Or a towel? It’s like, is this my life? I feel like I have a male model all to myself. I am probably going to wake up one of these days and still be living in Washington with my idiot ex.

But, uh, yeah. I can’t even talk about this without getting all warm. Somehow, Matt makes me feel all happy and glowy. (Oh, and… since I’m already blushing… yeah… everything he says in bed makes me tongue tied. God… he is so filthy… in the best way.)

DDBA- Have you been back to any strip clubs?  Would you like to?  

Hannah- Nope, we haven’t gone to anymore strip clubs. Yet. Things have been a little crazy for us. I mean, it wasn’t until recently that our lives settled back down… sorta… and I’m hoping Matt and I can… (I’m fifty shades of red right now, I just know it)… uhm, experiment some more. Yeah, so… we’ll see…

DDBA- Have you decided if Matt looks best in formal or casual? 

Hannah- Okay, yes. I’ve decided. I might change my mind later, but… as good as Matt looks in slacks and a dress shirt… he is so fucking beautiful in jeans and a t-shirt. So, I’m going to have to say casual.

night owl picture-001

 

See what I mean?

DDBA- What is your favorite book of 2014? 

Hannah- The Surrogate! I am a shameless Matt Sky fangirl.

Review-0015starRebecca:

I remember downloading Night Owl in November of 2013 after a favorite blogger had mentioned it. I devoured it one day. It was unlike anything I had read in recent memory. Over six months later, I am still obsessed with this book.

Tracy:

I held off because I was so worried about a possible crazy cliffhanger; which really there wasn’t one so I was kicking myself for waiting. I LOVED this book! It was different in a way that’s hard to explain. There is a dark undertone in the writing, but it also has this light humor that had me laughing.

Rebecca:

I fell in love with Matt from the first few pages. Yes, he has a very naughty mouth. However, he has a vulnerability to him as well. In many ways, he is like a lost soul. He uses his whit and sarcasm as a defense mechanism. He has child like quality to him.

I love his voice, demanding, dictating, demeaning, and in the end, desperate. ~Hannah

Tracy:

Oh I fell in love with Matt also. Of course I wanted to punch him a couple times, but you are right, as tough as he had a side to him that was sensitive and broken. But I have to say, I think if there was a contest, Matt would win the “dirty talker” award.

 “You don’t give me pleasure, do you understand? I take it from you.” ~Matt

Rebecca:

Matt is definitely my favorite dirty talker of all time! Poor Hannah never stood a chance with this guy! While it’s easy to get swept away in the enigma of Matthew, I really loved Hannah too. It takes a unique woman to capture Matt’s attention. She was often overwhelmed by him but she can pack her own punches when needed.

Tracy:

Yep, no chance! Hannah is the perfect match for Matt. Unfortunately there were a few obstacles in their way to get there. She had to be tough and ready to put up with a whole hell of a lot to be with Matt…

How could I make anyone understand? He was still with me. He was the negative space. ~Hannah

 Rebecca:

I was so pleased the book was written from dual POVs. Hannah and Matt are such complex characters; so much would have been missed with just a single POV.

Tracy:

Dual POV is definitely my favorite. Matt was so complex we would have missed a lot if we didn’t have both sides of the story. Now both of us are not big fans of the dreaded “triangle” but we both loved this book, so what do you think made it different?

Rebecca:

I don’t want to reveal spoilers! I will just say that even if you are not a fan of triangles, you NEED to read this book! It’s such a small piece of the story.

Tracy:

No spoilers for sure, you need to read this story and experience it yourself. There is just a different tone to M. Pierce’s writing that sets this book apart from others I’ve read. Add the great storyline and sexy Matt Sky and you have a 5 star read for me!

Rebecca:

It’s also 5 Stars for me! I am in love with an author whose gender we don’t even know. I won’t embarrass myself by confessing how many times I’ve read this book. I will definitely be adding the paperback copy to my collection!

Night Owl Teaser Tuesday-001

 

One Click-001

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18681804-night-owl?from_search=true

Amazon paperback:   http://www.amazon.com/Night-Owl-Trilogy/dp/1250058236/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1390391205&sr=8-1

Amazon ebook:    http://www.amazon.com/Night-Owl-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B00HY070CU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1390391205&sr=8-1&keywords=m.+pierce

Target:   http://www.target.com/p/night-owl-night-owl-trilogy-series-1-by-m-pierce-paperback/-/A-15305150#prodSlot=medium_1_15&term=night+owl

Barnes & Noble:   http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/night-owl-m-pierce/1117359288?ean=9781250058232

iBooks:   https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/night-owl/id802769143?mt=11

Kobo:    http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/night-owl-3   

 

Excerpt

Panic set in as I listened to the ring.

I’m about to talk to Matt.

I’m about to hear his voice.

I don’t even know this guy.

What the hell am I doing?

He could be a psycho stalker.

We shouldn’t cross this line.

I can hang up.

I can hang up now.

Yeah, I’m going to h—

“Hannah?”

I swallowed and slid down the bathroom wall.

“Hannah, is that you?”

Matt’s cool, clear voice swirled in my ear. It was distantly accented—New Jersey, maybe New York—and a little husky.

He sounded sleepy.

He sounded sexy as hell.

I had the overwhelming urge to ask him to keep saying my name. Hannah, Hannah, Hannah. Help me come. Warmth bloomed between my legs.

“Okay then.” He laughed softly. I felt my reason melting at the sound. “We’ll play the one-sided conversation game. I’m Matt, it’s nice to—” Again, he broke into quiet laughter. His voice was rich with amusement, but not warm. He sounded contemptuous. He sounded ready to laugh at anything, simply for the pleasure of laughing with his silky voice.

I couldn’t help but picture the devilish eyes that must have accompanied that voice.

Green eyes, I decided. Dark green, secretive and deep like a forest.

“I was going to say it’s nice to meet you,” he went on, “but I guess we’ve technically met online. Now we’re meeting on the phone. Maybe…” He trailed off. I heard some shuffling. “God, if this is you trolling me Nate, I swear I’m going to break your fucking—”

“Hey! Sorry, I—” I scooted over to the bathroom door, opened and closed it, then sat back against the wall. Brilliant. Sorry, I was soaking my underwear while I listened creepily to your voice. “—sorry, yeah. I had to go in the bathroom. My sister is asleep.”

Matt was silent for a moment.

“Is that why you’re whispering?” he said.

“Yeah. She’s really tired. We’re at a motel, we just stopped. Pretty sure the wall between this bathroom and her bed is a piece of plywood, so.”

“Well… damn. I wanted to hear your voice. I mean, your regular volume voice.” He chuckled. “Do you think you could risk a few words? I’ll deal with your sister if she wakes up.”

I smirked, imagining a conversation between my hotheaded sis and this glib personality.

“I think that would be a bad idea. But, um. Sure. What  should I say?”

“With your normal voice? How about, the quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.”

“Okay.” I cleared my throat. I was suddenly painfully self-conscious about my voice. “Um. Okay. The… the quick brown fox—”

Laughter exploded on the line. It was loud and sharp, nearly cruel.

“Oh… my god Hannah.” I heard a clatter, then some scuffling. “Oh fuck. You were really saying it. The quick… brown fox… oh god.” Matt dissolved into laughter again.

I glared at my knees.

“What’s so fucking funny?” I whispered.

“Hannah. Hannah, I’m sorry.”

I heard him take a few calming breaths.

“Okay,” he said. “I’m sorry. Ignore me, seriously. I have a weird sense of humor. That… that struck me funny. You have a lovely voice. Go figure.”

Go figure? What did he mean by that?

“Look, is there a reason you wanted me to call, or were you just looking for some late night entertainment?”

“Pretty sure this classifies as early morning entertainment, Hannah.”

“Okay. Well whatever. Look, I’m not sure why I—”

“I can’t stop thinking about you.”

His words stopped me cold.

His words, and something in his voice. Honesty.

“What we did,” he continued. “Or what you did to me…”

My throat went dry. What I did to him. It should have grossed me out, the thought of a stranger beating off to a few details about my body, but it didn’t. It intrigued me. The heat between my legs pulsed.

“You know what I’m talking about,” he insisted. An edge came into his voice at the slightest provocation.

“Y-yeah,” I managed. “Yeah.”

“You enjoyed it.”

“Yeah.”

“You said you wished I were pounding into you.”

“Yeah…”

I couldn’t believe this smooth-talking stranger was dictating to me how I felt.

I couldn’t believe I was blindly agreeing.

And I couldn’t believe my considerable vocabulary had suddenly been reduced to “yeah.”

“Hannah, you made me come so hard. And I did it again, thinking about you. Let me return the favor.”

His words hung in the silence between us.

Return the favor. Help me come.

“Yes,” I whispered.

Meet The Author-001

lawrence-1M. Pierce is the bestselling author of Night Owl, book one in the erotic Night Owl Trilogy. The author lives in Colorado and owns a rabbit named Laurence.

 

 

 

 

Website/Blog:          http://mpiercefiction.com/

Facebook:                  https://www.facebook.com/pages/M-Pierce/174553066083258

Goodreads:                https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7258437.M_Pierce

Twitter:                       https://twitter.com/mpiercefiction

Pinterest:                    http://www.pinterest.com/mpiercefiction/

Tumblr:                       http://mpiercefiction.tumblr.com/

Amazon:                     http://www.amazon.com/M.-Pierce/e/B00F0SL9WU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Giveaway-001

– LELO Elise 2 – http://www.lelo.com/index.php?collectionName=femme-homme&groupName=ELISE-2
– 3 signed SMP Night Owl paperbacks
– 1 signed original/indie Night Owl Paperback
– 4 sets of signed bookmarks
– 3 Night Owl Ebooks
– 2 Last Light Ebooks (delivered on release day)
– Oh Whimsical Me Night Owl bracelet (with original cover)
– Oh Whimsical Me Night Owl bracelet (with new ebook cover)
– Night Owl Inspired Necklace
– Night Owl bottle cap magnets (set of 4)
– Night Owl Trilogy Bookmarks & Night Owl paperback cover magnet
– Night Owl Trilogy ribbon bookmarks (set of 3)

RC Embed Code – a Rafflecopter giveaway

RC Direct Link – http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1eeafd153/

Last Light Paperback Cover-1

Last Light (Book #2)

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18744040-last-light

Amazon:   http://www.amazon.com/Last-Light-Night-Owl-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B00JCZ6U6W/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1402615237&sr=8-2&keywords=last+light+m+pierce

Barnes & Noble:   http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/last-light-m-pierce/1117685289?ean=9781250058362

 

TS LARGE IMAGE-1

One response to “Night Owl by M. Pierce – Blog Tour, Interview, Giveaway, and Review

  1. I haven’t read this yet but Matt Sky is such a mystery & I can’t wait to get to know him and his secrets 🙂

Leave a Reply

