Blog Tour and 5 Star Joint Review for Branded by Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki

blog tour

Branded-001

One Click-001

 Amazon Link

Barnes & Noble Link

index

SynopsisFifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best.
Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home.

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain.

Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me.
I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter.
My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story

Review-0015starRebecca-
I read this book last year. I was excited to hear there had been changes and a re-release. I loved it even more the second time around. There was much more of Keegan than in the first book.

Tracy-
I don’t usually read Dystopian, but I thought this one was great. It was fast paced, had an interesting variety of characters, with a little romance on the side.

Rebecca-
I’m a huge Dystopian junkie! I couldn’t agree more with you, Tracy. This book is fast paced and I loved the interaction of Cole and Lexi. Zeus was a scene stealer from not the beginning as well.

Tracy-
I always get nervous when there’s a dog in the story that something bad is going to happen, but fell in love with Zeus. I think while I was reading the book I texted you a couple time tell you I wanted my own Zeus. He added a little humor to the story.

Rebecca-
Zeus was a much needed buffer for Lexi and Cole. In the beginning, Lexi was the one I adored and cheered for. It took me a large portion of the book to be completely Team Cole. Since the story was told from Lexi’s POV, I was desperate to learn what Cole was thinking and feeling.

Tracy-
I really wanted to be in the head of Cole. I feel like he has an amazing story that I hope we are going to get later in the series. I also adored Lexi, after a rocky beginning with her she was tough. I think the authors did her justice by slowly giving us her story throughout the book so we could really feel where she was coming from.

Rebecca-
Spot on, Tracy! I really liked the flashbacks and slow back-story of Lexi and her family. I also enjoyed the additional conversations and back-story with Lexi and her brother. That was missing from the previous edition.

Tracy-
Now of course I’m a sucker for romance and I loved the “forbidden love” storyline happening between Cole and Lexi.

“I’m not allowed to fall for you, but I did.” His eyes don’t leave mine; I stare at him blinking rapidly. “You’re my assignment. You’re my job.”

Rebecca-
The romance part was awesome for me. There was a lot of angst and indecision. No spoilers here as to what happened with Cole and Lexi though!

He’s just my guard, and I’m just his job. Because anything more will get us both killed.

Tracy-
You are right Rebecca, we are not giving anything away… We had to read patiently to find out so no sharing. There were also a lot of side stories in this book that intrigued me and I assume we are going to find out more about in the novels to come.

Rebecca-
The books ends in a great place, there was no large Cliffhanger. However, Lexi and Cole’s story is far from over!

Tracy-
I was thankful we didn’t have a huge cliffhanger. I can’t wait to see what happens next with Cole and Lexi and the rest of the characters in this series.

Goodreads-001Excerpt

10409973_10202167752899853_1997175229_n

I turn on the faucet for a long while only to discover ice-cold water rushing out. The water never warms and I begin to understand. The Commander thinks he can wash away my soul by freezing me to death. He thinks he can destroy me by stripping away my possessions. But he can’t and I won’t let him take my memories, my ambition, and my pride. He thinks I’m so easily broken. The Commander doesn’t know anything about me, what I grew up with, what I endured—the father I lost, the mother I hate, the brother who walked out of my life, and the stepfather I was forced to accept. He thinks since I was rich, making me poor will cause me to give up. What he doesn’t understand is that, after my father passed away, I grew up behind walls of hatred. I had nothing, but had everything at the same time. I owned expensive clothes, enjoyed good schooling, and lived in a nice home. But my body was just a shell protecting an empty, desperate heart. My life was a colorful façade. I had so much time to sit and think. I spent the majority of my life between four walls. I was abandoned, neglected, starved, betrayed, and abused. I’ve already been treated like the scum of the earth, so the Hole is nothing new. He wants to erase every sign of my existence on this earth, but I won’t let that happen. He can strip me naked, but he’ll never reach my soul. It’s personal, completely personal.

 

Meet The Author-001

Website – http://www.abiandmissy.com/

Twitter – @abiandmissy

10423619_10202167754659897_1027957615_n

Abi and Missy met in the summer of 1999 at college orientation and have been best friends ever since. After college, they added jobs, husbands and kids to their lives, but they still found time for their friendship. Instead of hanging out on weekends, they went to dinner once a month and reviewed books. What started out as an enjoyable hobby has now become an incredible adventure.

 

Leave a Reply

