Review of Fragile Bonds by Sloan Johnson

FINAL.FragileBonds

Amazon Link to Fragile Bonds

Book Description:

“Without trust, we have nothing.”

These are the words which have haunted Melanie Erickson for six years. When she walked out of the house Xavier Ross bought as their forever home, she thought she was closing that door permanently, but fate had other plans.

Xavier Ross tried to keep everyone at a distance until Melanie came into his life. The more he tried to fight his feelings for her, the more he fell in love. One rash decision fractured the trust that was essential to their relationship.

Six years later, she is the last person he expects to see walk through his front door. Will Xavier and Mel be able to learn to trust one another again so they can fulfill a dying woman’s wish?

 

four star

 

 

Tracy’s Review~

I had to stop and think about this book before I could sit down and write the review. This has been quoted as a second chance romance, but I think that is really too simple of a term for this book. This is a story of second chance romance, but it is also a story of grief, growth, and acceptance; acceptance of what life has given you and what your choices do to your life.

“I’m not sure I will ever understand what I did to deserve a second chance with you, but I will thank God every night that I have this time.”

I went into this book, blind, thinking it was going to be some sort of love triangle, and even though it was in a sense, it wasn’t at all in the stereotypical “love triangle” storyline. It was much more an emotional triangle playing with these characters.

“I need to make Mel understand that she’s the woman consuming my mind. And more importantly, she deserves to be the woman I go out of my way to make happy every single day.”

There are so many pieces to this story that taken separately have a different impact than looking at the story as a whole. Part of this story I had trouble relating and connecting to the characters. And that may be because they were themselves going through a transformation within the book. This story is more of a journey. A story where we are working through the lives of Melanie and Xavier. Although I did feel their bond with the relationship they developed I didn’t feel the connection they had before. Their initial relationship was a confusing mystery to me. The Dom/Sub relationship was not something I could associate with either of these characters and that may be part of the reason I had a hard time accepting their initial feelings for one another.

This story touched on a lot of issues and I believe did a good job being sensitive to the needs of someone grieving; grieving a mother, spouse and a friend.

“You can’t change what happened. But you can make sure Jacob has what he needs in his life. And seeing as you love her and I know she loves both of you, I think you’d be doing everyone, Alyssa included, a disservice to ignore that because of your own hang-ups created by the past.”

Now we did get to meet the brother Braydon and I loved him! I’m wondering if maybe there will be a book for him in the future. He was a kindhearted, loving brother who I believe has a story to tell… Fingers crossed this wasn’t the last we see of Braydon.

 

Goodreads-001

 

sloan johnson

About the Author:

Sloan Johnson is a big city girl trapped in a country girl’s body. While she longs for the hustle and bustle of New York City or Las Vegas, she hasn’t yet figured out how to sit on the deck with her morning coffee, watching the deer and wild turkeys in the fields while surrounded by concrete and glass.

When she was three, her parents received their first call from the principal asking them to pick her up from school. Apparently, if you aren’t enrolled, you can’t attend classes, even in Kindergarten. The next week, she was in preschool and started plotting her first story soon after.

Later in life, her parents needed to do something to help their socially awkward, uncoordinated child come out of her shell and figured there was no better place than a bar on Wednesday nights. It’s a good thing they did because this is where she found her love of reading and writing. Who needs socialization when you can sit alone in your bedroom with a good book?

Leave a Reply

