Scare Crow (Crow’s Row #2) by Julie Hockley

Scare Crow-001

Book Description:

Nineteen-year-old Emily Sheppard is losing her sanity. Ever since her mob king boyfriend, Cameron Hillard, abandoned her for her own good, Emmy has been attempting to move on with her charmed college student life as if nothing happened. Now rejected from the underworld and left grieving over Cameron’s alleged death, Emmy realizes she belongs nowhere. Worse yet, she is now keeping a dangerous secret.

After just a short time with Emily, Cameron has lost control over his world. As he miserably attempts to return to what is left of his life and unravel the mess he has made of the underworld, Emily’s hate turns to desperation. She needs to kill the kingpins responsible for Cameron’s death before they come looking for her. As Cameron secretly observes Emily, he has no idea of the danger he has placed her in—or that it may already be too late for him to save her.

Scare Crow is a tale of revenge, terror, and love as Emmy and Cameron embark on separate journeys to face enemies, correct past mistakes, and find their way to their destinies.

four_half-stars_

Tracy and Rebecca’s Joint 4.5 Star review for Scare Crow by Julie Hockley

Warning… This review contains spoilers from the first book in the series Crow’s Row.

If I could have just realized that my time with him would be cut so short, I would have held him in my arms and never let him go.

Tracy~

First off I know we were both so excited this book was a dual POV! We finally got into the mind of Cameron!

Rebecca~

Yes! Cameron is so complex; we desperately needed to know his thoughts and feelings about Emmy and his business. That was really lacking in Crow’s Row.

Tracy~

And we do get a much better understanding for the business in this book. I feel like in this book Cameron does come off like the Boss. It wasn’t that he was soft in Crow’s Row; we just didn’t get to really see the “business” side of his character until this book.

Rebecca~

I agree. Cameron is darker than we saw in the first book. There are also several flashbacks to show Cameron watching over Emily when she was younger.

“Every time you take a human life, something–a darkness–grows inside of you, pushing you out, until eventually there’s nothing but the darkness left.”

Tracy~

His protectiveness when she was younger made me fall in love with him; from a distance he was falling in love with her.

“Emmy, it turned out, was real. She was hotheaded and emotional and over dramatic. And she was kind. She could make your heart start beating again. She could bring life to the darkest place, to the darkest man. With one tear, she could make you feel like the shittiest asshole in the world. But with one smile, you were invincible.”

Rebecca~
I was frustrated with Emily often in this book. She makes some really irrational decisions. However, I kept reminding myself of her situation. I am not certain how anyone could function under such circumstances. I was happy to see Griff return and play an important role in her life.

“I have been alone pretty much my whole life. Only since I had lost Cameron had I really felt my loneliness.”

Tracy~
Many of her decisions had me questioning her sanity. Her situation did add many new factors that she needed to deal with, but it was hard to understand where she was going and what she was thinking. But what I loved about Emmy in this book is she became a fighter, tough. Griff I think helped to balance her out. How could you not love the guy?

Rebecca~
However, could Emily ever love Griff like she did Cameron? Could Cameron truly ever let her go?

“If Cameron has, or had my heart, then Griff had my soul.”

Tracy~
This story had us trying to answer those questions. Its part of what I loved about this book. The twists and turns the plot took; you just didn’t know what was going to happen next.

Rebecca~
In true “Crow” fashion, there is a killer ending. Cameron and Emily’s story is far from over.

Tracy~
No kidding! I’m going to be anxiously waiting for the next book. Who knows where that book will take us? So many things happened in this book that need to be resolved; both with the characters and the business. Let’s hope we don’t have to wait too long!

Goodreads-001

 

Leave a Reply

